Homeschooler Pro

What Are The Four Types Of Curriculum Design

A curriculum is a systematic way of teaching and learning. It is the collective responsibility of educators and policy makers with the aim of preparing students for the complexities of the real world. Curriculum design is important as it helps to enhance student learning by creating meaningful and relevant learning opportunities for them.

It also ensures that the curriculum meets the needs of a diverse student body. This article outlines the four types of curriculum design.

1. Social Efficiency Model

The Social Efficiency Model of curriculum is one of the oldest and most widely used models. It is designed to meet the social needs of the time and emphasizes a high degree of efficiency and productivity.

This model has its origins in the industrial revolution, where a highly structured curriculum was used to prepare students for entry-level jobs. The curriculum focuses on teaching technical skills and preparing the students to be productive citizens. However, this model does not allow for meaningful exploration or creative thinking, or for students to question societal norms and beliefs.

2. Cognitive Domain theory

The Cognitive Domain theory of curriculum is a newer model that is based on the idea that learning best takes place when the student is actively engaged and actively constructing knowledge. This model focuses on the cognitive abilities, values, and beliefs of the learner and on addressing individual learning needs, rather than on the efficiency of the educational process. It also emphasizes the importance of problem solving, reflective thinking, and the development of critical thinking skills.

3. Behavioral Model

The Behavioral Model of curriculum is based on the idea that the most effective way to teach someone a skill is to reward them when they demonstrate the correct behavior. This model emphasizes the importance of providing immediate feedback and rewards for appropriate behavior. This can be done through the use of rewards, such as points or special privileges.

While this model may be effective in teaching certain skills, it does not allow for the development of autonomy or critical thinking.

4. Humanistic Integrative Model

The Humanistic Integrative Model is based on the belief that students should have autonomy and take ownership of their learning. This model is focused on helping the students gain self-realization and empower themselves to become independent thinkers. This model emphasizes flexibility and experiential learning, allowing students to explore subjects in an individualized way rather than in a group setting.

This model also supports the development of creative and critical thinking skills, as well as an appreciation for diversity. Conclusion The four types of curriculum design outlined in this article provide educators with different approaches to curriculum development.

The Social Efficiency Model is the oldest, and most widely used, model of curriculum and focuses on the technical aspects of teaching and efficiency. The Cognitive Domain theory is a newer model of curriculum and focuses on individual learning needs.

The Behavioral Model of curriculum emphasizes rewarding appropriate behavior. The Humanistic Integrative Model emphasizes self-realization, autonomy, and critical thinking skills. Each of these models provides different ways to design a curriculum that is meaningful and relevant for students.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top