Homeschooler Pro

What Are The Four 4 Curriculum Exits

When a person completes their studies, they must depart their educational institution in some way. These departures, or “exits” are essential. They are the end of an educational period.

While students will graduate in some way, there are actually four distinct curriculum exits that they could conduct when they complete their studies. This article will explore all four of them and explain what they are and what they mean.

Exit Type One: Attainment

The first type of curriculum exit is Attainment. This one is quite simple.

It is the traditional way for a student to complete their studies, so much that the term “graduation” is often used to describe it. In this type of exit, the student will complete all of their necessary requirements, either from tests, presentations, and other standard types of assessment. Upon completion of these requirements, they will receive an official stamp from their educational institution, usually as a certificate.

With an attainment exit, all of the necessary knowledge is gained and the student is given the signal that they have reached the end of their program.

Exit Type Two: Equivalency

The second type of curriculum exit is Equivalency. In this exit, students will demonstrate their knowledge of the curriculum without necessarily having to complete all of the hours or courses in the program. This is often still with prior learning, which is assessed through a number of methods.

According to the documentation, this assessment must be “equal to the learning outcomes or competencies of the program, course or equivalent”. This type of exit is usually a way for a student to reduce the amount of courses or hours, meaning that this is not a cheat but an alternative form of gaining recognition for their educational achievements, which is especially useful if a person is seeking accelerated studies.

Exit Type Three: Accommodation

The third type of curriculum exit is Accommodation. This exit type is quite unique.

This type of exit will allow a student who, due to personal circumstances or disabilities, is not able to finish their requirements. This type of exit is very lenient. The educational institution will assess the student’s current situation and allow them to complete their studies, within a certain timeframe and with certain standards.

Depending on the institution, their assessment sometimes includes a portfoilio of completed work, which serves as an alternative to tests and examinations.

Exit Type Four: Adaptation

The fourth type of curriculum exit is Adaptation. This type is similar to the Accommodation, only with a slight difference.

Instead of allowing the student to complete their studies within a certain timeframe, the Adaptation exit allows for the student to either skip or lengthen certain portions of their studies, thereby reducing their workload but still retaining the same amount of learning. This type of exit is used if a student is not able to complete their studies at the same pace, but is still able to learn the necessary information.


At the end of the day, whatever type of curriculum exit that a person chooses, it is essential that they are able to complete their studies in a satisfactory manner. Each of the four types of exits provide a unique set of benefits, which can be tailored to almost any situation. It is important to understand which type of exit best suits the student’s needs, as it is important that they are able to receive recognition for their educational achievements.

This will likely help them in their future endeavours.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top